FranchiseLens › Other Restaurants
Beef Jerky Outlet logo

Beef Jerky Outlet

Other Restaurants · 2024 FDD

The Beef Jerky Outlet offers a variety of specialty food items including jerky, sausages, sauces, and snacks through retail stores. Known for its extensive selection, this franchise operates in the snack food retail sector.

$196,750 – $407,400
Total investment
$49,900
Franchise fee
4
Systemwide units
2%
Royalty
Compare Beef Jerky Outlet Ask about Beef Jerky Outlet

Beef Jerky Outlet franchise FAQ

How much does it cost to open one — the total initial investment?

The total initial investment necessary to begin operation of a Beef Jerky Experience franchised business ranges from $196,750 to $407,400. This includes between $69,400 to $76,900 that must be paid to the franchisor and/or its affiliate. [p.1]

What is the initial franchise fee?

The initial franchise fee varies based on whether it's for a single store or part of a multi-unit agreement. For a single store, the initial franchise fee is $49,900 [p.15]. If you sign a Multi-Unit Operator Agreement, the initial franchise fee for the first Store is $49,900 and $5,000 for each additional Store [p.15, p.23]. This isn't specified in the excerpts for other scenarios.

What are the ongoing royalty and advertising fees?

The ongoing royalty fee is two percent (2%) of Gross Sales, in addition to a Brand and Technology fee also at two percent (2%). Both fees are payable at the same time as the Royalty Fee. The company has the right to increase the Brand and Technology Fee up to a maximum of four percent (4%) of Gross Sales with thirty (30) days' prior written notice. [p.86]

How long is the initial franchise agreement, and can I renew it?

The initial term of the franchise agreement is not specified in the provided excerpts. Regarding renewal, you are required to provide written notice no later than six months before the expiration of the initial or renewal term if you wish to renew the agreement [p.109]. The franchisor can refuse to renew under certain conditions, such as non-compliance with the terms of the agreement [p.110].

Can I sell or transfer my franchise, and what does that require?

According to the FDD, you cannot freely transfer ownership of your franchise without good cause as determined by the franchisor. The franchisor may refuse such transfers except for valid reasons, which could include but are not limited to unspecified criteria [p.200]. This restriction also does not prevent the franchisor from exercising a right of first refusal to purchase the franchise instead [p.200].

On what grounds can the franchisor terminate the agreement?

The franchisor can terminate the agreement on any grounds available by law [p.245, p.205, p.153]. However, termination cannot occur without reasonable cause as defined under Section 13.1-564 of the Virginia Retail Franchising Act [p.252, p.247], meaning that any stated grounds for default or termination must constitute 'reasonable cause' to be enforceable.

What financial requirements — net worth and liquid capital — do I need to qualify?

This isn't specified in the excerpts.

Do I get an exclusive or protected territory?

No, you do not receive an exclusive territory. You may face competition from other franchisees, outlets owned by the franchisor, or other channels of distribution or competitive brands controlled by the franchisor [p.33, p.42]. This isn't specified in the excerpts for non-traditional sites either.

What training and ongoing support does the franchisor provide?

The franchisor provides initial training which includes their confidential Operations Manual and other relevant materials, as of the date of this Disclosure Document [p.40]. This training must be completed satisfactorily by you and your Highly Trusted Individual within 30 days before your Store opens [p.39]. Training is conducted on an as-needed basis and may involve multiple franchisees or Highly Trusted Individuals at the same session [p.40].

How many franchised outlets are there, and how many have closed or been terminated?

The FDD does not provide specific numbers for the total number of franchised outlets or the exact count of closed or terminated franchises. However, it mentions that Hunt and Giandonato/Kromer remain as franchise owners at other locations after closing a unit(s), and there is one franchise that converted to a short-term license and three franchises temporarily closed but set to re-open in new locations [p.62]. Additionally, five franchisees (Jones, Lemoine, Young, Walls, and White) left the franchise system in 2024 [p.222], though this does not specify if these were closures or terminations.

Does the franchisor share any financial performance or earnings information?

The franchisor may provide actual records of an existing outlet if you are purchasing one, but generally does not make financial performance representations. If such information is provided, it must be substantiated upon reasonable request [p.61]. This isn't specified in the excerpts for all scenarios where financial performance or earnings information might be shared.

What am I restricted to selling, and where must I buy supplies?

You must operate the Store according to System Standards, which regulate the types, models, and brands of equipment, display items, POS system, proprietary and specialty items, inventory items, supplies, marketing materials, and other Operating Assets [p.26]. You may have to buy or lease items from the franchisor or a limited group of suppliers they designate, as these items might be more expensive than those you could purchase on your own [p.5].