FranchiseLens › Pizza
Donatos Pizza logo

Donatos Pizza

Pizza · 2024 FDD

Donatos Pizza offers high-quality pizzas, sandwiches, and delivery services from franchised restaurants. Known for fresh ingredients, it operates in the quick-service restaurant sector.

$571,818 – $1,068,174
Total investment
$30,000
Franchise fee
176
Systemwide units
1%
Royalty
10 yrs
Agreement term
Compare Donatos Pizza Ask about Donatos Pizza

Donatos Pizza franchise FAQ

How much does it cost to open one — the total initial investment?

The total initial investment necessary to begin operation of a Donatos franchised business is between $541,818 to $1,038,174. This includes costs such as the initial franchise fee and other expenses [p.1].

What is the initial franchise fee?

The initial franchise fee is $30,000 for each traditional Donatos Pizza Restaurant without a Qualified Veteran. For a Qualified Veteran, the initial franchise fee is reduced by 20%, making it $24,000. [p.15]

What are the ongoing royalty and advertising fees?

The FDD does not provide specific details on the amounts of ongoing royalty and advertising fees that a franchisee would be required to pay. These fees may differ from those paid by the covered franchisee Donatos Restaurants, as mentioned in [p.75]. For precise information, you should refer directly to your Franchise Agreement or consult with the franchisor.

How long is the initial franchise agreement, and can I renew it?

The initial franchise agreement does not specify a fixed term length. However, if you meet certain conditions, you have the right to renew the franchise for one ten (10) year term [p.149].

Can I sell or transfer my franchise, and what does that require?

According to the FDD, you generally cannot transfer ownership of your franchise without good cause, as specified on page [p.6]. However, the franchisor reserves the right to exercise a first refusal to purchase the franchise if it chooses to do so. This restriction is particularly applicable in the context of Donatos Pizza Restaurants, where developers must continue to own and operate all restaurants within their development territory (refer to pages [p.232]).

On what grounds can the franchisor terminate the agreement?

The franchisor may terminate the agreement on any grounds available by law [p.282]. Additionally, the franchisor retains the right to terminate a franchise agreement if there is an event, cause, or default that also serves as grounds for terminating this Agreement [p.230].

What financial requirements — net worth and liquid capital — do I need to qualify?

This isn't specified in the excerpts.

Do I get an exclusive or protected territory?

No, you do not receive an exclusive territory. You may face competition from other franchisees, Donatos Pizza Restaurants owned by the company, third-party delivery services, and competitive brands controlled by the company. The development rights are subject to certain exclusions, particularly regarding Non-Traditional Sites and areas protected by Red Robin Restaurants as defined in the FDD [p.54, p.56].

What training and ongoing support does the franchisor provide?

The franchisor provides an Opening Training team, known as the 'Promise Team,' consisting of current general managers and assistant general managers with at least 1 to 3 years of experience in restaurant operations. This team assists with all aspects of the Restaurant's day-to-day operations during the grand opening process [p.49]. For subsequent Restaurants, a franchisee can choose to receive this training again by paying a Training Fee, which is uniformly set at either $15,000 or the actual costs incurred by the franchisor [p.23]. Additionally, each franchisee owner and their Associates are required to attend initial training programs, though there is no charge for these except for travel and living expenses [p.46].

How many franchised outlets are there, and how many have closed or been terminated?

The FDD does not specify the exact number of franchised outlets currently in operation or those that have closed or been terminated. It mentions that zero (0) franchisees left the system during the last fiscal year [p.80], but it doesn't provide the total count of active outlets or details about closed stores.

Does the franchisor share any financial performance or earnings information?

The franchisor does not provide written financial performance representations to prospective franchisees [p.76]. However, if you are purchasing an existing outlet, the franchisor may provide actual records of that specific location's performance [p.76]. This isn't specified in the excerpts for new franchises.

What am I restricted to selling, and where must I buy supplies?

Based on [p.4], you are generally restricted from operating a similar business during the term of the franchise, which includes controlling your location, access to customers, what you sell, marketing methods, and hours of operation. As for supplies, according to [p.30], you must buy all equipment, food products, beverage products, insurance, uniforms, and certain operating supplies only from approved suppliers designated by the franchisor. These approved suppliers must meet the Proprietary Supplier Specifications provided under confidentiality agreements.