FranchiseLens › Bakery, Donuts & Snacks
Great American Cookies logo

Great American Cookies

Bakery, Donuts & Snacks · 2024 FDD

Great American Cookies offers franchises to sell cookies, brownies, and related items in standalone or multi-unit locations. Known for its classic cookie varieties, the brand operates in the confectionery retail sector.

$154,850 – $651,635
Total investment
$25,000
Franchise fee
147
Systemwide units
2%
Royalty

About Great American Cookies

Industryfood service

Great American Cookie Co., doing business as Great American Cookies, is an American chain of independently owned and operated franchised stores that specialize in gourmet cookies, especially cookie cakes. It has over 370 stores in the U.S., particularly in the Southeast as well as Puerto Rico and Guam, most commonly located in malls. The company was founded in 1977 and has its headquarters in Atlanta. It has been a franchise brand in the portfolio of Global Franchise Group since 2010.

Read more on Wikipedia → · Facts from Wikipedia (CC BY-SA)

Compare Great American Cookies Ask about Great American Cookies

Great American Cookies franchise FAQ

How much does it cost to open one — the total initial investment?

The total initial investment cost to open a restaurant isn't specified in the excerpts. The FDD provides estimates and guidelines but notes that actual costs can vary based on location and other factors [p.44]. Additionally, costs like travel expenses for trainees, construction, equipment, and specific local costs are not included in these estimates [p.53] and [p.41].

What is the initial franchise fee?

The initial franchise fee is $25,000 and it applies to all types of Traditional Restaurants, Non-Traditional Restaurants, and Standard Co-Brand Restaurants. This fee is fully earned by the company upon payment and is not refundable [p.22, p.41, p.127].

What are the ongoing royalty and advertising fees?

The ongoing royalty fee is calculated as a percentage of Net Sales, specifically 4% [p.127]. For advertising contributions, while not explicitly stated in the provided excerpts, it can be inferred that there is an advertising fund contribution required from franchisees [p.114], though the exact rate is not specified here.

How long is the initial franchise agreement, and can I renew it?

The initial term of the franchise agreement is not specified in the excerpts. However, according to [p.329], the agreement will automatically renew for successive one-year terms unless either party provides written notice of intent not to renew at least 60 days prior to the then-current term's expiration. This isn't specified in the excerpts.

Can I sell or transfer my franchise, and what does that require?

The franchisor can refuse to permit a transfer of ownership of the franchise except for good cause. Good cause includes but is not limited to unspecified reasons [p.6(g)].

On what grounds can the franchisor terminate the agreement?

The franchisor can terminate the agreement on any grounds available by law [p.267]. However, under Virginia law, termination without reasonable cause is unlawful [p.274]. Good cause for termination includes failure to comply with lawful provisions of the franchise agreement and failing to cure such failures after notice and a reasonable opportunity to cure [p.6].

What financial requirements — net worth and liquid capital — do I need to qualify?

This isn't specified in the excerpts.

Do I get an exclusive or protected territory?

No, you do not receive an exclusive territory [p.66]. You may face competition from other franchisees, outlets owned by the company, or other channels of distribution or competitive brands that the company controls [p.65, p.139] and [p.67].

What training and ongoing support does the franchisor provide?

The franchisor provides initial training supervised by FAT's Sr. Director of QSR Operations, John Cardwell, which includes topical training handbooks and online training videos [p.58]. Additionally, the franchisor offers ongoing quarterly training and status meetings at their discretion, along with other required training programs and seminars where they provide instructors and materials while requiring franchisees to cover expenses like transportation, lodging, meals, and wages [p.133].

How many franchised outlets are there, and how many have closed or been terminated?

As of December 31, 2023, there were no franchised Smokey Bones restaurants operating [p.12]. This isn't specified in the excerpts regarding any closures or terminations.

Does the franchisor share any financial performance or earnings information?

The franchisor does not make any financial performance representations except for the preceding one. They do not authorize their employees or representatives to make such representations either orally or in writing [p.95]. However, if you are purchasing an existing outlet, they may provide actual records of that outlet's performance [p.95]. Additionally, the franchisor can include financial performance information concerning your restaurant in its franchise disclosure document and related media claims as required by law [p.146].

What am I restricted to selling, and where must I buy supplies?

You are restricted to offering for sale only the specific brand and product mix required by the franchisor, which may be specified in terms of inventory percentage or retail space. You must purchase and offer these products from suppliers designated by the franchisor [p.4, p.137]. Additionally, you cannot sell any merchandise without prior written approval from the franchisor [p.5.18.10], and you are not allowed to sell alcoholic beverages without specific written approval that may come with conditions [p.5.18.9].