FranchiseLens › Ice Cream & Desserts
Handels Ice Cream logo

Handels Ice Cream

Ice Cream & Desserts · 2024 FDD

Handels Ice Cream offers franchises for ice cream parlors selling homemade ice cream and other frozen treats. Known for its quality products, the franchise requires significant investment ranging from $460,900 to over $1 million per location.

$460,900 – $996,500
Total investment
$50,000
Franchise fee
145
Systemwide units
6%
Royalty
10 yrs
Agreement term

About Handels Ice Cream

Founded1945
HeadquartersCanfield
Industryice cream

Handel's Homemade Ice Cream is an ice cream company franchise founded by Alice Handel in 1945 in Youngstown, Ohio. As of April 2026, the company operates over 175 corporate and franchise stores in 20 states. Today, it is owned by Leonard Fisher and maintains a corporate headquarters in Canfield, Ohio. Handel's also has its own neighborhood district located in Youngstown.

Read more on Wikipedia → · Facts from Wikipedia (CC BY-SA)

Compare Handels Ice Cream Ask about Handels Ice Cream

Handels Ice Cream franchise FAQ

How much does it cost to open one — the total initial investment?

The total estimated initial investment required to open the initial Parlor under a Development Agreement ranges from $460,900 to $996,500. This includes between $225,000 and $285,000 that must be paid to the franchisor or its affiliates. [p.1, p.20]

What is the initial franchise fee?

The initial franchise fee is not specified in the amount within these excerpts. The fees are described as nonrecurring and required to be paid prior to opening the respective store, but the exact dollar amount is not provided. [p.76], [p.63]

What are the ongoing royalty and advertising fees?

The ongoing royalty fee is 6.0% of the franchisee's gross sales [p.46, p.63, p.76]. This percentage applies to both permanent locations and mobile units [p.175], with no minimum for mobile units. Advertising fees are not specified in these excerpts.

How long is the initial franchise agreement, and can I renew it?

The initial franchise agreement typically covers a 10-year period, after which a franchisee may elect to renew the term if approved by the Company [p.63].

Can I sell or transfer my franchise, and what does that require?

This isn't specified in the excerpts.

On what grounds can the franchisor terminate the agreement?

This isn't specified in the excerpts. The provided FDD sections discuss termination by the franchisee [p.166], operating restrictions [p.4], non-compete clauses post-termination [p.128], and some legal considerations [p.167] and [p.162], but do not detail specific grounds for franchisor termination.

What financial requirements — net worth and liquid capital — do I need to qualify?

This isn't specified in the excerpts. The provided FDD focuses on estimated working capital needs, opening advertising expenses, and credit loss allowances but does not detail specific net worth or liquid capital requirements for qualifying as a franchisee.

Do I get an exclusive or protected territory?

You do not receive an exclusive territory [p.34]. However, as long as you are not in default, the company will not establish another Handel's ice cream parlor within your designated area [p.91]. You may face competition from other franchisees and affiliate-owned parlors within your designated territory for delivery or catering services [p.33], but you can still accept business from individuals or entities outside your designated territory if they contact you directly [p.33]. This isn't specified in the excerpts.

What training and ongoing support does the franchisor provide?

The franchisor provides initial training for two individuals involved in operating the business, which is included in the Initial Franchise Fee. They also offer on-site assistance during the grand opening period at no additional fee [p.28]. Additionally, they provide ongoing operating assistance to ensure compliance with system standards and a consistent customer experience [p.95]. The franchisor may also offer additional training programs or refresher courses for the franchisee's employees, though the franchisee is responsible for related expenses such as travel and lodging [p.177].

How many franchised outlets are there, and how many have closed or been terminated?

As of December 31, 2024, there were a total of 145 franchised Parlors open and operating. Additionally, the document states that there are 62 Walk-Up Parlors and 54 Walk-In Parlors among these. The number of franchisees who have been terminated, canceled, not renewed, or otherwise ceased to do business is provided in Exhibit E, but the specific numbers are not given in the excerpts. [p.54]

Does the franchisor share any financial performance or earnings information?

The franchisor does not make any financial performance representations about a franchisee's future financial performance or that of company-owned or franchised outlets [p.49]. However, if you are purchasing an existing outlet, they may provide actual records of that outlet's performance [p.49]. Additionally, the franchisor can provide information about the actual or potential financial performance of its franchised and/or franchisor-owned outlets if there is a reasonable basis for the information and it is included in the Disclosure Document [p.45].

What am I restricted to selling, and where must I buy supplies?

You are required to sell only those services and products that have been expressly approved by the franchisor. This includes all types of services and products specified by them, and you must not deviate from their standards without prior written consent. You also need to purchase fresh fruit and other food ingredients from local suppliers as per the franchisor's requirements detailed in the Manuals [p.22]. Additionally, you may have to buy or lease certain items from the franchisor or a limited group of suppliers they designate, which might be more expensive than alternatives [p.4].