FranchiseLens › Beauty & Personal Care
Individual Unit Franchise Program logo

Individual Unit Franchise Program

Beauty & Personal Care

Elements Massage offers therapeutic massage and skincare services through franchised studios, known for providing relaxation and wellness solutions. Operating in the wellness and spa services industry.

$602,239 – $1,132,853
Total investment
$40,000
Franchise fee
239
Systemwide units
10 yrs
Agreement term
Compare Individual Unit Franchise Program Ask about Individual Unit Franchise Program

Individual Unit Franchise Program franchise FAQ

How much does it cost to open one — the total initial investment?

The total estimated initial investment for opening one Value Engineering Studio ranges from $559,989 to $746,523. This amount includes all items outlined in Item 7 of the FDD except for the Initial Franchise Fee, which is not included in this range [p.31].

What is the initial franchise fee?

The initial franchise fee is $40,000, which must be paid as a lump sum by wire transfer upon signing the Franchise Agreement. This fee is fully earned and non-refundable [p.13, p.128].

What are the ongoing royalty and advertising fees?

The ongoing royalty fee is six percent (6%) of your Studio's Gross Receipts, due on the 5th day of each month after the first full calendar month following opening. If this date isn't a business day, payment is due the next business day [p.128]. Advertising expenses are not specified as ongoing fees but are included in marketing and advertising costs [p.259].

How long is the initial franchise agreement, and can I renew it?

The initial term of the franchise agreements is typically 10 years, with an option to renew for a fee or transfer the franchise agreement to a new or existing franchisee. [p.255]

Can I sell or transfer my franchise, and what does that require?

Yes, you can sell or transfer your franchise, but it requires approval from the franchisor. According to [p.152], any transfer must be approved in writing by the franchisor and includes assignments, sales, gifts, or other dispositions of the franchise agreement, studio ownership, or substantial assets. Additionally, a transfer fee may apply; for instance, if you sell or transfer ownership, you need to pay 50% of the current initial franchise fee unless it's less than a 10% interest, in which case you pay $2,500 plus administrative costs [p.22].

On what grounds can the franchisor terminate the agreement?

The franchisor can terminate the agreement for good cause, which includes the franchisee's failure to comply with any lawful provision of the franchise agreement and not curing such failure after being given written notice and a reasonable opportunity (no more than 30 days) to do so [p.6]. This isn't specified in the excerpts for other specific grounds.

What financial requirements — net worth and liquid capital — do I need to qualify?

The FDD does not specify exact net worth or liquid capital requirements for qualification [p.201]. However, it indicates that the franchisor assesses your liquidity as part of granting development rights and reserves the right to establish and modify specific liquidity requirements throughout the term of the agreement [p.201].

Do I get an exclusive or protected territory?

You will not receive an exclusive territory [p.78, p.49]. However, you are granted a Protected Area where the franchisor typically defines it as a circle with a 1.5-mile radius around your studio, unless otherwise specified in Exhibit B of the Franchise Agreement [p.49]. This area may be adjusted based on various factors including population density and specific site characteristics [p.49]. Additionally, you have protection from new Studios being established by the franchisor or others within your Development Area while you comply with the terms of an Area Development Agreement [p.52]. Captive Market Locations are also excluded from this exclusivity [p.50, p.123].

What training and ongoing support does the franchisor provide?

The franchisor provides various forms of training including sales training series, in-person or electronic courses, trade shows, certification programs, performance groups, and webinars [p.132, p.48]. They may also send a training team for up to three days to conduct on-site training at their discretion [p.47, p.133]. Additionally, you can request additional or special support for which you would need to pay the franchisor's then-current training fee [p.132, p.133].

How many franchised outlets are there, and how many have closed or been terminated?

As of December 31, 2025, there were 239 franchised Studios in operation in the United States. The FDD does not specify the number of closed or terminated outlets; however, it mentions that 6 Studios closed in 2025, none of which had been open less than 12 months [p.65].

Does the franchisor share any financial performance or earnings information?

The franchisor does not make any financial performance representations, nor do they authorize their employees or representatives to provide such information. However, if you are purchasing an existing outlet, they may provide actual records of that outlet's performance [p.67]. This isn't specified in the excerpts for new franchises.

What am I restricted to selling, and where must I buy supplies?

You may have to purchase certain items from the franchisor or a limited group of suppliers designated by them, such as an 'Initial Opening Package' from WAVE that includes supplies like massage oils and tables [p.14]. There are no restrictions on what you can sell, but you cannot engage in business activities expressly prohibited by the Agreement [p.199].