Ivybrook Academy offers comprehensive half-day preschools focusing on learning, enrichment, and socialization. Known for providing private kindergarten classes alongside their main curriculum, this franchise caters to families seeking quality early education options.
The total initial investment necessary to begin operation of a single Ivybrook Academy franchise ranges from $643,400 to $1,174,500, depending on whether you receive a tenant improvement allowance. This includes an initial fee of $83,500 that must be paid to the franchisor or its affiliates [p.1].
The initial franchise fee is $50,000 for the first school, with subsequent fees being $40,000 for the second school and $30,000 for each additional school. This fee is non-refundable [p.12, p.21].
The ongoing royalty fee is not specified in terms of a percentage, but it includes brand fund fees which are 1% of total gross revenue for regional and national advertising [p.173]. Additionally, there may be an obligation to participate in a cooperative advertising program where the maximum fee that can be imposed by a cooperative is 2% of Gross Revenue [p.81].
The initial term of the franchise agreement is typically 15 years, with an option to renew for a fee or transfer the franchise agreement to a new or existing franchisee. You have the right to obtain a successor franchise at the expiration of the Initial Term by entering into a new franchise agreement with Franchisor, and this can be renewed up to two additional terms of 10 years each [p.63].
According to Section 19.4 on page [p.109], you can sell or transfer the Franchised Business to a member of your immediate family without being subject to the usual terms and conditions specified in Section 18.2. However, prior to such a sale or transfer, you still need to comply with all other applicable provisions as if it were any other transfer, except for those specifically addressed in this section.
The franchisor can terminate the franchise agreement if there is a default by the franchisee that does not constitute 'reasonable cause' as defined under Virginia law [p.137]. Additionally, the franchisor has the right to terminate the agreement for good cause, which includes failure to comply with lawful provisions of the Franchise Agreement and failing to cure such failures within a reasonable time frame [p.6].
This isn't specified in the excerpts. The FDD does not detail specific financial requirements such as net worth or liquid capital needed to qualify as a franchisee. However, it does mention that if the franchisor's most recent unaudited financial statements show a net worth of less than $100,000.00, the franchisee may request escrow for initial investment funds until obligations are fulfilled [p.7].
Based on the excerpts, you receive an exclusive territory as determined by the Franchisor [p.59], but this exclusivity is limited to your compliance with the franchise agreement terms and no default [p.34]. The territory does not provide protection against the establishment of other Ivybrook Academy schools by the Franchisor within your territory, except for the restriction on them establishing or operating such a school [p.34]. Additionally, there are no guarantees regarding market penetration or sales volume to maintain territorial rights [p.59]. This isn't specified in the excerpts for additional protections beyond the initial exclusive territory granted under the franchise agreement.
The franchisor provides initial training that includes online courses, training at their Charlotte, NC headquarters, and setup at your school location. This is included in the $15,000 training and opening support fee [p.13]. Additionally, the franchisor may provide ongoing training or seminars from time to time without charging a fee for mandatory ones, but Franchisee must cover travel costs, room and board, and employees' salaries if they attend requested additional training [p.76].
As of June 4, 2026, there are 52 franchised Ivybrook Academy schools open and operating. Since January 1, 2026, two (2) schools have ceased operations [p.48].
The franchisor may provide financial performance information about actual or potential franchise outlets if there is a reasonable basis for this information and it is included in Item 19 of the Disclosure Document. However, the franchisor does not make representations about future financial performance beyond what is contained in Item 19 and does not authorize its employees or representatives to provide additional financial performance information that is not specified there. [p.47, p.50]
You are restricted to offering and selling only the services and products authorized by the franchisor. You must purchase certain items, such as The Student Hub software, from a limited group of suppliers designated by the franchisor, which in this case includes an affiliate owned by Catapult [p.22].