FranchiseLens › Home Services
Mr Electric logo

Mr Electric

Home Services

Mr. Electric offers electrical service and repair for residential and commercial customers, specializing in installations, upgrades, and remodeling. Known for reliable and efficient service, Mr. Electric operates across multiple locations, providing essential electrical solutions in the home improvement and maintenance sector.

$159,500 – $357,425
Total investment
$59,449
Franchise fee
262
Systemwide units

About Mr Electric

Founded1994
HeadquartersTucson
Compare Mr Electric Ask about Mr Electric

Mr Electric franchise FAQ

How much does it cost to open one — the total initial investment?

The total initial investment necessary to begin operation of a Mr. Electric® franchise ranges from $159,500 to $357,425, which includes $43,750 that must be paid to the franchisor and affiliate. [p.2]

What is the initial franchise fee?

The initial franchise fee is $42,500 for a territory up to 100,000 in population. Additional territory beyond 100,000 in population costs $425 per each additional 1,000 population. Discounts may apply, and financing options are available as noted in Item 10 of the FDD [p.24, p.41].

What are the ongoing royalty and advertising fees?

The ongoing license fees and marketing fund contributions are paid by the franchisee following the opening of each business [p.424]. These fees are reported as Franchise service fees and related revenue in the Consolidated Statements of Operations and Comprehensive Income (Loss) [p.231, p.265], with the company acting as the principal in these transactions. The advertising services provided to franchise owners are considered highly interrelated with the franchise rights and not a distinct performance obligation, so revenues from MAP fund fees are recognized when related sales occur [p.231, p.265].

How long is the initial franchise agreement, and can I renew it?

The initial franchise agreement does not specify its length; however, you may renew it for one term of 10 years under certain conditions [p.107]. To renew, you must provide written notice at least 180 days but no more than 240 days before the end of your current term and meet several other requirements [p.107].

Can I sell or transfer my franchise, and what does that require?

The franchisor can refuse to permit a transfer of ownership of your franchise except for good cause, which includes but is not limited to unspecified factors [p.6(g)]. This means you cannot freely sell or transfer your franchise without the franchisor's approval [p.6].

On what grounds can the franchisor terminate the agreement?

The franchisor can terminate the agreement at any time, with or without cause, for any reason whatsoever [p.315]. Additionally, the franchisor may terminate the agreement if the franchisee is in default of their franchise agreement with the franchisor or has failed to comply with program terms [p.315].

What financial requirements — net worth and liquid capital — do I need to qualify?

This isn't specified in the excerpts.

Do I get an exclusive or protected territory?

No, you do not receive an exclusive territory. You may face competition from other franchisees, outlets owned by Mr. Electric, or other channels of distribution or competitive brands controlled by Mr. Electric [p.66]. However, if you are in full compliance with your Franchise Agreement and sign a Development Agreement, Mr. Electric will not operate another franchise within your designated area during the term of your agreement [p.69].

What training and ongoing support does the franchisor provide?

The franchisor provides Phase I and Phase II Training at no additional cost, which must be completed by at least one owner or designated manager. Phase I typically lasts 2.5 days, while Phase II lasts 5 days and occurs in Waco, Texas, or another location chosen by the franchisor. Additionally, field training is required, involving a visit to an existing franchise for 2 to 3 days. Ongoing support includes training and maintenance services provided by ZorWare, accessible via telephone and internet during their normal business hours [p.319].

How many franchised outlets are there, and how many have closed or been terminated?

As of December 31, 2025, there were a total of 262 ShelfGenie franchised outlets in operation. The FDD indicates that 15 franchised businesses closed during the Reporting Period but were not included in this count because they were not in operation for the entire Reporting Period. This isn't specified in the excerpts regarding the number of terminated outlets, so the exact number of outlets that have been terminated is not provided here. [p.83] [p.94]

Does the franchisor share any financial performance or earnings information?

Yes, the franchisor may share financial performance and earnings information. According to [p.437], BackOffice (presumably a division of the franchisor) can share data and financial information with the Franchisor and its officers, directors, and employees for various purposes, including calculating royalties and analyzing the financial health of clients. Additionally, [p.83] states that the franchisor is permitted to provide actual or potential financial performance information under certain conditions as outlined by the FTC's Franchise Rule.

What am I restricted to selling, and where must I buy supplies?

You are restricted to selling items that the franchisor or a limited group of suppliers designated by them may require you to purchase. This could potentially lead to higher costs compared to sourcing on your own [p.4]. The franchise agreement does not specify exact limitations on what you can sell, but it may include restrictions on operating a similar business during the term of the franchise and other controls over your operations such as location, marketing, and hours of operation [p.4, p.187].