Pepper Lunch offers fast casual Japanese specialty restaurants where customers cook their own meals of beef, chicken, and seafood on iron griddles. Known for unique DIY dining experiences with signature pepper rice and sauces, Pepper Lunch operates in the quick-service restaurant sector.
Pepper Lunch is a Japanese "fast-steak" restaurant franchise popular in the Tokyo area. There are approximately 500 locations in Japan, as of 2023.
Read more on Wikipedia → · Facts from Wikipedia (CC BY-SA)
The total initial investment necessary to begin operations of a single Pepper Lunch Restaurant ranges from approximately $657,000 to $1,688,500 [p.1].
The initial franchise fee is $50,000, which must be paid when you sign the Franchise Agreement [p.9]. This fee is part of the franchisor's general operating funds at their discretion [p.191].
The franchisee pays a royalty fee equal to 5% of Gross Sales daily [p.69]. For advertising, the franchisee may spend on local advertising but must follow Franchisor's policies and obtain prior approval for any materials used [p.88]. This isn't specified in the excerpts regarding exact amounts for ongoing advertising fees.
The initial term of the franchise agreement is not specified in the excerpts. However, you have the right to exercise the Renewal Right upon the expiration of the Initial Term by notifying the Franchisor in writing at least 18 months before the Expiration Date [p.68]. This Renewal Right allows you to enter into a new franchise agreement for the Renewal Term under the same terms as new franchisees [p.68].
According to the FDD, a provision permits the franchisor to refuse to permit a transfer of ownership of a franchise except for good cause [p.182]. This means you cannot freely sell or transfer your franchise without the franchisor's approval, which can be withheld for reasons they consider justifiable.
The franchisor can terminate the agreement on any grounds available by law [p.191]. Additionally, the franchisor may terminate the franchise prior to its expiration for good cause, which includes the failure of the franchisee to comply with any lawful provision of the franchise agreement and failing to cure such failure after being given written notice and a reasonable opportunity to do so [p.182].
This isn't specified in the excerpts. The FDD does not provide specific details on the net worth or liquid capital required for franchisee qualifications. It only mentions that potential franchisees must meet the franchisor's then-current qualifications, which include factors such as financial condition and credit rating [p.97, p.143].
You will receive a protected territory ('Protected Area'), which is determined by factors such as demographics and competition. However, this does not provide you with an exclusive territory, as you may face competition from other franchisees, outlets owned by the company, or other competitive brands [p.39, p.40].
The franchisor provides a pre-opening initial training program for up to four supervisorial or managerial personnel selected by the franchisee, which includes approximately six weeks of training covering topics like onsite food preparation, portion control, and marketing techniques. This training is provided at no charge if it's the first restaurant operated by the franchisee. Additionally, the franchisor offers a manager's training course for certifying managers, with a fee of $5,000 due 30-60 days before the training starts. The franchisor also provides pre and post opening support, which is mandatory for every new restaurant opening, with a fee of $5,000 to be paid by no later than 14 days prior to the grand opening. [p.74]
As of December 31, 2024, there were 5 franchised locations open in the United States. The FDD does not specify any outlets that have been terminated, not renewed, or ceased operations for other reasons [p.55].
Yes, the franchisor can provide financial performance information if there is a reasonable basis for it and if certain conditions are met. This includes providing actual records from existing outlets you are considering buying [p.52]. However, the franchisor does not make representations about future financial performance or past performance of company-owned or franchised outlets, nor do they authorize others to make such claims [p.53].
You are required to serve only the products authorized by the franchisor ('Authorized Pepper Lunch Products') and must purchase all 'Pepper Lunch Proprietary Products' from the franchisor or an approved supplier. You may also use suppliers that the franchisor has accepted and approved, which may include the franchisor and their affiliates. This information is detailed in [p.22] and [p.84].