Pizza Hut Express offers non-traditional locations like Mini Kitchens and Kiosks serving Pizza Hut pizza. Known for quick, convenient meals, it operates in the fast-casual dining sector.
The total initial investment necessary to begin operation ranges from $50,800 - $183,000 for a Pizza Hut Mini Kitchen; $78,300 - $179,000 for a Pizza Hut Kiosk; $105,700 - $224,000 for a Pizza Hut Retail Counter; and $131,200 - $304,000 for a Pizza Hut Retail Counter with Dining. [p.1]
The initial license fee is $5,000 unless you are authorized to offer medium-sized or larger pizzas, in which case it can range from $10,000 to $20,000, depending on the license term and the Licensed Concept. This amount must be paid prior to opening [p.18].
Ongoing royalty and advertising fees are typically billed and received on a monthly basis. The continuing fees, which represent the substantial majority of the consideration received under franchise agreements, range from 4% to 6% for store-level franchise agreements. These fees are usually billed and paid monthly [p.225]. Additionally, franchisees remit a percentage of restaurant sales as consideration for advertising services provided by AdCom [p.225].
The initial term of the franchise agreement and the process for renewal are not specified in these excerpts. However, it's noted that if you wish to renew, you must give written notice at least 6 months prior to the expiration of the Initial Term or first Renewal Term [p.67(viii)].
The franchise agreement permits the refusal of a transfer of ownership of the franchise except for good cause [p.6]. Good cause includes but is not limited to unspecified reasons, which could be interpreted by the franchisor [p.6].
The franchisor can terminate the agreement if you fail to comply with any lawful provision of the Franchise Agreement and do not cure such failure within a reasonable period, which cannot exceed 30 days after receiving written notice [p.6]. Additionally, termination is allowed under Washington law as required by the Act [p.117].
The Company requires a minimum net worth of $15 million to qualify for the large franchisor exemption under certain state U.S. franchise registration laws. This requirement has been met as of December 30, 2024, with the Company having $67.3 million in net worth reflected as Member's equity. The FDD does not specify any liquid capital requirements for qualification. [p.221]
No, you do not receive an exclusive territory [p.5, p.35]. This isn't specified in the excerpts.
The franchisor provides an initial training program for managing the Licensed Concept, which can be conducted virtually or in-person at their Training Center. This training may include multiple segments to cover practical operations and product preparation [p.73]. Additionally, periodic updates and replacements are issued for the training elements [p.33]. Ongoing support includes requiring designated individuals to complete certification as 'Pizza Hut Champions' and ensuring compliance with operational standards [p.38].
This isn't specified in the excerpts.
The franchisor can provide actual records of an existing outlet being considered for purchase. However, they do not make representations about future financial performance or past financial performance of company-owned outlets and prohibit their employees from making such claims [p.46].
You are required to purchase all food supplies, ingredients, packaging, equipment, and other items used in the construction and operation of a Licensed Location from suppliers approved by Pizza Hut. This includes proprietary items like the spice blend that are available only from their approved suppliers [p.26]. While the market for pizza is generally developed, you may sell pizza and other Licensed Products in venues where ready-to-eat branded pizza has not traditionally been sold [p.14].