FranchiseLens › Casual Dining & Sports Bars
Protein Bar And Kitchen logo

Protein Bar And Kitchen

Casual Dining & Sports Bars · 2024 FDD

Protein Bar & Kitchen offers customizable high-protein meals and shakes in a franchise format, targeting health-conscious customers. Known for its nutritious menu options, it operates in the healthy eating segment of the food service industry.

$369,500 – $685,000
Total investment
$40,000
Franchise fee
3
Systemwide units
6%
Royalty
Compare Protein Bar And Kitchen Ask about Protein Bar And Kitchen

Protein Bar And Kitchen franchise FAQ

How much does it cost to open one — the total initial investment?

The total initial investment necessary to begin operation of a Protein Bar & Kitchen business ranges from $369,500 to $685,000. This includes payments to the franchisor or its affiliates and covers costs such as licenses and permits [p.19], computer system and technology fees [p.19], and other expenses mentioned in the FDD [p.20].

What is the initial franchise fee?

The initial franchise fee is $40,000 and it is not refundable [p.10, p.74]. This fee is typically paid when the franchise agreement is executed [p.197] and recognized over the term of the respective franchise agreement, which is usually 10 years [p.197].

What are the ongoing royalty and advertising fees?

The ongoing royalty fee is 6% of Gross Sales [p.74], and the local advertising requirement is 1% of the prior month's Gross Sales, subject to a Marketing Expenditure Cap [p.31]. This isn't specified in the excerpts for any fixed amount or additional details beyond these percentages.

How long is the initial franchise agreement, and can I renew it?

The initial franchise fee is recognized over the term of the respective franchise agreement, typically 10 years, beginning on the date the store is opened [p.197]. However, this excerpt does not specify the duration of the initial franchise agreement or the renewal process. Therefore, based on the provided excerpts, this isn't specified in the FDD.

Can I sell or transfer my franchise, and what does that require?

According to the FDD, you cannot engage in a Transfer of the Agreement before your business has opened for business. Additionally, you may not grant a security interest in the Agreement or Franchise through a transfer. However, if you are in full compliance with the terms, and the proposed transferee meets the franchisor's qualifications, the franchisor may approve the transfer under conditions it deems necessary to protect the brand and system [p.93].

On what grounds can the franchisor terminate the agreement?

The franchisor may terminate the franchise agreement if it determines that the franchisee's business is not in compliance with the franchise agreement and the franchisee fails to cure such failure after being given written notice and a reasonable opportunity, which cannot exceed 30 days [p.5]. Additionally, under Virginia law, termination without 'reasonable cause' as defined by the Virginia Retail Franchising Act may be unlawful [p.161].

What financial requirements — net worth and liquid capital — do I need to qualify?

This isn't specified in the excerpts. The provided FDD does not detail specific financial requirements such as net worth or liquid capital needed to qualify for a franchise.

Do I get an exclusive or protected territory?

You do not receive an exclusive territory. However, you will have certain exclusive rights within your Protected Territory, which we define based on factors such as population density, neighborhood characteristics, and competition [p.36]. This territory is subject to our approval of the Premises and can be adjusted if you disagree with our definition [p.73].

What training and ongoing support does the franchisor provide?

The franchisor provides an initial training program that lasts approximately 6 weeks, conducted at one of their locations in Chicago or another designated facility. For the first business, this training is provided free of charge. For subsequent businesses, a fee of up to $9,000 may be charged for training, which includes travel and related expenses for the franchisor's trainers [p.18, p.76]. Additionally, the franchisor may require attendance at an annual franchisee conference and other periodic or refresher courses, with associated costs potentially being reimbursable by the franchisee [p.94, p.76].

How many franchised outlets are there, and how many have closed or been terminated?

The FDD indicates that as of December 29, 2024, there are three operational franchised outlets. However, the number of closed or terminated franchises is not specified in the excerpts provided. [p.196]

Does the franchisor share any financial performance or earnings information?

The franchisor may share actual or potential financial performance information if there is a reasonable basis for it, but this must be disclosed in the FDD [p.53]. The franchisor does not make any financial performance representations other than those specified in Item 19 of the FDD and does not authorize its employees to make such representations [p.55].

What am I restricted to selling, and where must I buy supplies?

You are required to offer and sell approved Menu Items only at the Premises and in the manner authorized by the franchisor [p.43]. Additionally, you may have to purchase or lease items from the franchisor or a limited group of suppliers designated by them, which might be more expensive than similar items purchased elsewhere [p.3].