Salons By JC offers salon franchises with comprehensive investment ranges from $1,352,200 to $2,165,500, focusing on professional hair care services in a multi-unit development model within the beauty industry.
The total estimated initial investment to open one Salons by JC Business, without considering additional businesses under a Multi-Franchise Addendum or Multi-Unit Development Agreement, is $1,352,200 to $1,900,500. This amount includes the required payment of $60,000 to the franchisor or its affiliates [p.1].
The initial franchise fee varies depending on the specific franchise agreement. For a standard single franchise, it is $60,000 [p.18]. However, for certain development agreements or specific businesses, such as Business 2 with a waiver [p.193] or under modified terms like those in the Multi-Franchise Addendum, the initial franchise fee can be higher, up to $100,000 [p.192]. This fee is non-refundable and due upon execution of the Franchise Agreement.
The ongoing royalty fee is a continuing monthly payment equal to the greater of 5.5% of monthly Gross Sales or $500 per month [p.109, p.4]. Additionally, you must contribute a monthly sum not exceeding 3% of your monthly Gross Sales to the Brand Development Fund for marketing and operational improvements [p.30].
The initial franchise agreement does not specify a fixed term length but provides for up to two additional 10-year renewal terms if certain conditions are met. You have the option to renew the franchise for your continued license and operation of the franchised business, subject to compliance with the terms of the agreement and satisfaction of renewal conditions [p.193].
According to the FDD, you can transfer your franchise only with the franchisor's approval, which is based on good cause. Good cause includes but is not limited to specific criteria set by the franchisor [p.232]. This isn't specified in the excerpts.
The franchisor may terminate the agreement on any grounds available by law [p.235]. Additionally, the franchisor can terminate the agreement if the franchisee fails to comply with any lawful provision of the franchise agreement and does not cure such failure after being given written notice and a reasonable opportunity to do so, which cannot exceed 30 days [p.5].
The FDD does not specify exact net worth or liquid capital requirements for qualifying as a franchisee. However, if the franchisor’s most recent financial statements are unaudited and show a net worth of less than $100,000, you may request that initial investment funds be escrowed until certain obligations are fulfilled [p.233]. This isn't specified in the excerpts for exact amounts or other detailed capital requirements.
You do not receive an exclusive territory, but during the term of the Franchise Agreement, provided you comply with obligations to the franchisor and its affiliates, the franchisor will not open another salon in your designated territory. [p.34] However, this protection does not extend to competition from other franchisees or outlets controlled by the franchisor.
The franchisor provides initial training that may include classroom and on-the-job instruction at designated locations, or remotely through online web-based conferencing. This training is structured by the franchisor and conducted under the direction of their Vice President of Operations, Drew Johnston. Following completion of the initial program, ongoing training must be provided by the franchisee, which must conform to the franchisor's standards [p.107].
This isn't specified in the excerpts.
The franchisor does not make any representations about a franchisee's future financial performance or the past financial performance of company-owned or franchised outlets [p.52]. However, if you are purchasing an existing outlet, the franchisor may provide actual records of that outlet's performance [p.52]. Additionally, the franchisor is permitted to provide financial performance information if there is a reasonable basis for it and it is included in the Disclosure Document [p.47], but any such information differing from what is provided in Item 19 must be based on actual records of an existing outlet you are considering buying or by supplementing the information with possible performance details under specific circumstances.
You are required to exclusively sell the Approved Products and Services as specified in the System. For supplies, you must purchase all System Supplies from the franchisor or its designated suppliers [p.22]. This includes inventory, equipment, promotional materials, and other items necessary for your business operations [p.117].