FranchiseLens › Outdoor & Lawn Care
Spring Green logo

Spring Green

Outdoor & Lawn Care

SpringGreen offers professional lawn care and pest control services for residential and commercial properties. Known for comprehensive outdoor maintenance solutions, SpringGreen operates in the landscaping and environmental services industry.

$118,898 – $135,176
Total investment
$30,000
Franchise fee
156
Systemwide units
10 yrs
Agreement term
Compare Spring Green Ask about Spring Green

Spring Green franchise FAQ

How much does it cost to open one — the total initial investment?

The total initial investment necessary to begin operation of a SpringGreen business is estimated to be between $118,898 and $135,176. This amount includes payments to the franchisor or its affiliates in the range of $101,037 to $106,638 [p.1].

What is the initial franchise fee?

The initial franchise fee is $45,000 for a geographic territory containing up to 60,000 single family dwelling units (SFDUs). If you elect and are eligible to participate in the Industry Associate Program, this fee is reduced to $27,000. For territories exceeding 60,000 SFDUs, an additional fee of $0.50 per SFDU over 60,000 is required [p.22, p.13, p.85].

What are the ongoing royalty and advertising fees?

The ongoing royalty and advertising fees are not specified to start immediately upon commencing operations; they begin after the first lawn care season. For the first lawn care season, a reduced royalty fee applies based on certain conditions being met [p.231]. Regular fees include royalty fees under Section 4.B of the Franchise Agreement and contributions to the Advertising Fund under Section 4.D [p.20, p.231]. These fees are due after commencing operations or upon expiration of the Royalty Exempt Period if participating in the Flex Start Program [p.231].

How long is the initial franchise agreement, and can I renew it?

This isn't specified in the excerpts. The FDD does not provide information about the length of the initial franchise agreement or the renewal terms beyond mentioning that existing franchisees may pay different royalties upon renewal and that the franchisor has the option to base the royalty rate on aggregate gross sales from multiple territories.

Can I sell or transfer my franchise, and what does that require?

You cannot transfer your franchise without the franchisor's prior written approval [p.110]. This includes transfers by sale, gift, merger, consolidation, death, disability, divorce, insolvency, foreclosure, or any other disposition of ownership, possession, or control of your business or substantially all its assets [p.110]. Additionally, if the transfer involves this Agreement, the transferee must sign the franchisor's then-current form of franchise agreement and related documents [p.111].

On what grounds can the franchisor terminate the agreement?

This isn't specified in the excerpts. The provided FDD excerpts primarily detail the conditions under which a franchisee can terminate the agreement and mention that a franchisor cannot cancel a franchise without reasonable cause according to Virginia law, but do not specify the grounds for a franchisor to terminate the agreement.

What financial requirements — net worth and liquid capital — do I need to qualify?

This isn't specified in the excerpts. The provided FDD does not detail specific financial requirements such as net worth or liquid capital needed for franchise qualification.

Do I get an exclusive or protected territory?

Yes, you are granted an exclusive territory with respect to providing Services to Residential Accounts within the designated Territory. This exclusivity means that SpringGreen will not operate another franchise selling similar services in your Territory, and you may not solicit customers outside of it [p.42]. The continuity of this territorial exclusivity does not depend on achieving specific sales volumes or market penetration [p.43].

What training and ongoing support does the franchisor provide?

The franchisor provides an initial training program for the franchisee or their Managing Owner before commencing operations [p.40], which may include portions of the training within 30 days after starting operations. Ongoing and refresher training programs are also required, which can be conducted in person at designated locations or virtually [p.84]. These costs, including travel and meals, are borne by the franchisee [p.84, p.41].

How many franchised outlets are there, and how many have closed or been terminated?

The FDD indicates that as of December 31, 2025, there were 126 franchised Territories in operation. However, the number of closed or terminated franchises is not specified in these excerpts. [p.52]

Does the franchisor share any financial performance or earnings information?

The franchisor may provide financial performance information if there is a reasonable basis for it, as stated on [p.52]. However, the franchisor does not make any financial performance representations other than those included in Item 19 of the Disclosure Document, and they do not authorize their employees or representatives to make such representations either orally or in writing, according to [p.60].

What am I restricted to selling, and where must I buy supplies?

You are required to offer all services authorized for sale by the franchisor throughout your territory and during specified seasons. You may choose not to offer optional services. For supplies, you must purchase products utilized in providing these services from suppliers approved by the franchisor, which may include the franchisor or its affiliates [p.95, p.25]. This includes an initial supply package and certain required equipment before your business opens, as well as marketing materials and other operational items [p.25].