FranchiseLens › Beauty & Personal Care
The Barbershop logo

The Barbershop

Beauty & Personal Care

The Barbershop Salon offers men's haircuts, color, and grooming services in a casual setting. Known for specialized men's hair care, this franchise requires an initial investment of $207,000 to $352,600 and operates within the personal care services industry.

$207,000 – $352,600
Total investment
$40,000
Franchise fee
48
Systemwide units
5%
Royalty
10 yrs
Agreement term
Compare The Barbershop Ask about The Barbershop

The Barbershop franchise FAQ

How much does it cost to open one — the total initial investment?

The total initial investment necessary to begin operation of a single Salon franchise is estimated between $207,000 and $352,600. This includes the initial franchise fee, which starts at $40,000 for the first unit under an Area Development Agreement and includes additional fees for subsequent units [p.1, p.111].

What is the initial franchise fee?

The initial franchise fee varies based on whether a Area Development Agreement (ADA) is signed or not. If no ADA is signed, the Initial Franchise Fee for a single Salon is $40,000 [p.62, p.1]. If an ADA is signed to develop multiple Salons, the fees are $40,000 for the first Salon, $15,000 for the second, and $5,000 for each additional Salon [p.1, p.10].

What are the ongoing royalty and advertising fees?

The ongoing royalty fee is 5% of Gross Sales if you operate 5 or fewer Salons, and it reduces to 4.75% if you operate more than 4 Salons [p.63]. Advertising Fees can be up to 2% of Gross Sales if an Advertising Fund is established [p.12, p.63, p.64].

How long is the initial franchise agreement, and can I renew it?

The initial term of the franchise agreement is not specified in the excerpts. However, if you are in full compliance with the terms of the agreement, you have the right to renew for 5 additional terms of 10 years each (each a 'Renewal Term'), provided you agree to execute the most current franchise agreement being utilized by the franchisor at the time you renew [p.62].

Can I sell or transfer my franchise, and what does that require?

According to the FDD, you cannot freely sell or transfer your franchise without good cause as determined by the franchisor. Good cause includes but is not limited to unspecified criteria [p.102(g)]. The franchisor may also exercise a right of first refusal to purchase the franchise in such cases. [p.102]

On what grounds can the franchisor terminate the agreement?

The franchisor can terminate the agreement if there is good cause, such as failure to comply with lawful provisions of the franchise agreement and not curing such failure after being given notice and a reasonable opportunity (no more than 30 days) to do so [p.101]. Additionally, termination may occur due to criminal misconduct, fraudulent activity, abandonment of the salon, bankruptcy or insolvency, certain payment issues, material misrepresentations, violation of non-compete, confidentiality, or nonsolicitation provisions, or other acts that permit termination without notice and/or an opportunity to cure under applicable state law [p.74].

What financial requirements — net worth and liquid capital — do I need to qualify?

This isn't specified in the excerpts.

Do I get an exclusive or protected territory?

Yes, you receive an exclusive territory under franchise law [p.25]. Your Protected Territory is tailored to your specific site's demographics and typically covers a 3-mile radius around your Salon, though this can vary based on the density of the area [p.25]. Additionally, you have the exclusive right to establish franchise units within your Development Area as described in the ADA [p.27] and Franchise Agreement [p.109].

What training and ongoing support does the franchisor provide?

The franchisor provides initial training for new franchisees opening their first salon or transferees of existing salons. This training is required to be completed satisfactorily; otherwise, retakes are necessary until completion [p.25]. Additionally, the franchisor offers ongoing advisory assistance and may charge a reasonable fee for this support [p.13]. For new employees not initially trained during the initial program or experienced staff needing refresher courses, subsequent training is also available but comes with associated fees [p.66].

How many franchised outlets are there, and how many have closed or been terminated?

The FDD does not specify the total number of franchised outlets currently operating. It mentions that during the most recently completed fiscal year, some franchisees may have been transferred, terminated, cancelled, or otherwise ceased to do business under the franchise agreement [p.128]. However, specific numbers are not provided in the excerpts.

Does the franchisor share any financial performance or earnings information?

The franchisor does not make any representations about a franchisee's future financial performance or the past financial performance of company-owned or franchised outlets [p.36]. However, if you are purchasing an existing outlet, the franchisor may provide actual records of that outlet. For general financial performance information, the representation is based on historical data from 2025 and excludes certain locations [p.34].

What am I restricted to selling, and where must I buy supplies?

You are restricted to offering and selling only those goods and services that have been approved by the franchisor. This includes the ability for the franchisor to change required or authorized products and services at their discretion [p.31]. You must purchase general office supplies and typical office equipment, such as a scanner/copy machine and computers with Internet access, from the franchisor or a limited group of suppliers they delegate [p.15, p.4].