FranchiseLens › Automotive
The Glass Guru logo

The Glass Guru

Automotive

The Glass Guru offers glass installation, restoration, and repair services for residential and commercial properties. Known for comprehensive glass solutions, it operates in the home improvement and construction industries.

$155,805 – $385,280
Total investment
$49,500
Franchise fee
66
Systemwide units
7%
Royalty
Compare The Glass Guru Ask about The Glass Guru

The Glass Guru franchise FAQ

How much does it cost to open one — the total initial investment?

The total initial investment necessary to begin operation of a The Glass Guru franchise ranges from $155,805 to $385,280. This range includes $49,500 to $201,023.10 that must be paid to the Franchisor or its affiliates [p.1].

What is the initial franchise fee?

The initial franchise fee is not refundable and is fully earned upon the execution of the agreement [p.78]. The amount varies based on the population of the area serviced by the franchise, with a maximum of $199,500 for an area with up to 1,250,000 people [p.11].

What are the ongoing royalty and advertising fees?

The ongoing royalty fee is a non-refundable fee equal to seven percent (7%) of Gross Sales for the previous calendar month. For the first 180 days after opening, it's based on this percentage, but thereafter, it's the greater of seven percent of Gross Sales or a minimum amount of $1,750 per month [p.79]. Advertising fees are not specifically detailed in these excerpts, so this isn't specified in the excerpts.

How long is the initial franchise agreement, and can I renew it?

The term of the franchise agreement is typically five years [p.212]. The FDD does not specify conditions for renewal directly, but it mentions that a Franchisor may refuse to renew without fairly compensating the Franchisee under certain conditions, such as if the term is less than 5 years and the Franchisee cannot continue a similar business in the area after expiration [p.5]. This isn't specified in the excerpts.

Can I sell or transfer my franchise, and what does that require?

According to the FDD, participation in the FRAP (Franchisee Referral Program) does not guarantee a sale or specific resale price [p.251]. To sell or transfer your franchise, you must ensure any prospective buyer meets the Franchisor's qualifications and complies with the conditions for transfer described in your Franchise Agreement [p.251]. Additionally, the franchisor can refuse to permit a transfer except for good cause, which includes specific criteria [p.5].

On what grounds can the franchisor terminate the agreement?

This isn't specified in the excerpts. The provided FDD excerpts only detail termination rights for the franchisee and mention that either party may terminate the agreement upon thirty (30) days' written notice, but do not specify the grounds for termination by the franchisor.

What financial requirements — net worth and liquid capital — do I need to qualify?

The FDD does not specify minimum net worth or liquid capital requirements for qualifying as a franchisee. However, if the most recent financial statements of the Franchisor are unaudited and show a net worth of less than $100,000.00, the franchisee may request that initial investment funds be escrowed until certain obligations of the franchisor are fulfilled [p.6].

Do I get an exclusive or protected territory?

Yes, you receive an exclusive territory known as your Area of Primary Responsibility (APR), which is defined using US zip codes and typically covers a population ranging from 250,000 to 1,250,000. The franchisee maintains rights to this territory with no price increase during the term of the Franchise Agreement, even if the population increases over time [p.35, p.36, p.37].

What training and ongoing support does the franchisor provide?

The franchisor provides ongoing training for the franchisee, Designated Managers, and/or technicians [p.31]. Additionally, the franchisor holds conventions for franchisees as deemed necessary [p.31]. The company also offers pre-opening training and support, as well as ongoing use of its branding and intellectual property, marketing, and technology support through contracts generally lasting five years [p.205].

How many franchised outlets are there, and how many have closed or been terminated?

The number of franchised outlets is not specified in the excerpts. According to [p.59], a list of current franchisees as of December 31, 2025, and those who have had an outlet terminated, canceled, not renewed, or otherwise ceased to do business during the last calendar year ending December 31, 2025, is attached as Exhibit F. However, the exact numbers are not provided in the given excerpts.

Does the franchisor share any financial performance or earnings information?

The franchisor does not make any financial performance representations other than the preceding one. They do not authorize their employees or representatives to make such representations either orally or in writing [p.54]. However, if you are purchasing an existing outlet, they may provide actual records of that outlet's performance [p.54].

What am I restricted to selling, and where must I buy supplies?

You are restricted to selling goods and services as specified in the franchise agreement [p.72, p.48, p.20]. Additionally, you may have to buy or lease items from the Franchisor or a limited group of suppliers designated by them, which might be more expensive than other options [p.3].