FranchiseLens › Beauty & Personal Care
UNI K WAX logo

UNI K WAX

Beauty & Personal Care

Uni K Wax offers franchises for wax hair removal studios using proprietary techniques. Known for providing comprehensive support, it operates in the beauty services sector focusing on salon franchising.

$413,912 – $768,600
Total investment
$49,500
Franchise fee
34
Systemwide units
7%
Royalty
Compare UNI K WAX Ask about UNI K WAX

UNI K WAX franchise FAQ

How much does it cost to open one — the total initial investment?

The total initial investment necessary to begin operation of a UNI K WAX ® studio is $413,912 to $768,600. This includes $72,300 to $79,450 that must be paid to the franchisor and affiliate. [p.1]

What is the initial franchise fee?

The initial franchise fee is $49,500, which is nonrefundable once the Agreement has been signed [p.79]. Qualified veterans receive a 20% discount, reducing the fee to $39,600 [p.10], but this discounted rate does not apply to area development deals unless the developer commits to open 3 Studios [p.11].

What are the ongoing royalty and advertising fees?

The ongoing royalty fee is 7% of Gross Sales, paid on the Wednesday following each reporting period which runs from Monday to Sunday. Additionally, starting 90 days after opening, franchisees must spend at least the greater of 2.5% of Gross Sales or $1,500 per month on local advertising to promote their studio. [p.79, p.72]

How long is the initial franchise agreement, and can I renew it?

The initial term of the franchise agreement is not specified in the excerpts. However, you may renew your franchise rights by signing a Successor Agreement for a five-year renewal term, with a maximum of three such agreements. Further renewals after the third renewal term are possible but not obligatory (unless required by applicable law) [p.64].

Can I sell or transfer my franchise, and what does that require?

According to the FDD, you can transfer your franchise ownership under certain conditions. A permitted transfer includes transfers between existing owners or to a new business entity fully owned and controlled by the transferring owners [p.15]. However, the franchisor may refuse a transfer for good cause, which is not defined in these excerpts but could include various reasons deemed material by the franchisor [p.189, p.7].

On what grounds can the franchisor terminate the agreement?

According to the FDD excerpts, the franchisor may terminate the agreement on any grounds available by law [p.193]. However, under Virginia Retail Franchising Act, termination without reasonable cause is unlawful [p.196], and provisions for termination must include good cause such as failure to comply with lawful provisions of the franchise agreement and curing such failures within a reasonable time frame [p.6, p.189].

What financial requirements — net worth and liquid capital — do I need to qualify?

This isn't specified in the excerpts. The provided FDD excerpts focus on the franchisor’s financial condition and certain conditions under which a franchisee can request escrow of funds, but they do not detail specific financial requirements for qualifying as a franchisee.

Do I get an exclusive or protected territory?

Yes, you receive exclusive territorial rights under the franchise agreement [p.38]. Your territory will be defined as part of Attachment "A" to your ADA, typically including a minimum population of 25,000 but often around 50,000 [p.37]. This exclusivity does not depend on achieving specific sales volumes or market penetration [p.38].

What training and ongoing support does the franchisor provide?

The franchisor provides various training and ongoing support services. Edith Hoffmann offers training and oversight to corporate waxer trainers and franchisees' waxers, as well as grand opening and existing studio training in operations, compliance, and systems [p.29]. Additionally, Cynthia Svetliza instructs on systems, reporting, studio setup, operations, and support training both in person and virtually [p.30].

How many franchised outlets are there, and how many have closed or been terminated?

As of December 31, 2025, there were 34 franchised studios in operation, with 32 being Qualifying Studios [p.46]. The document does not specify the number of closed or terminated outlets [p.52], only mentioning that information about franchisees who had their outlets terminated, canceled, not renewed, or otherwise ceased to do business is included in Exhibit "F" (Part B) if applicable [p.52].

Does the franchisor share any financial performance or earnings information?

The franchisor does share financial performance information for both franchised and company-owned Qualifying Studios, based on sales reports and internal financial records respectively [p.45, p.49]. However, this information is not considered a financial performance representation, and the earnings claims figures do not reflect all costs and expenses that must be deducted from gross revenue to obtain net income or profit [p.183].

What am I restricted to selling, and where must I buy supplies?

You are required to sell only goods and services approved by the franchisor [p.42]. You must purchase or lease all goods, services, and other items required by the Manual from suppliers designated or approved by the franchisor, which may include exclusive suppliers in some cases [p.20 & p.74].